DiabeticallyYours

Living life as a Type 1 Diabetic.

#DblogWeek – What they should know

“What is one thing you would tell someone that doesn’t have diabetes about living with diabetes?”.  Let’s do a little advocating and post what we wish people knew about diabetes.  Have more than one thing you wish people knew?  Go ahead and tell us everything.

Before my diagnosis, I knew nothing about diabetes. I thought diabetes was related to sugar. It had something to do with sugar anyways and that, for some reason, they had to carry this pouch and test their blood for god-knows-what.

That was my actually thinking. Honestly. I thought that people with diabetes couldn’t eat anything that had sugar in it. Shredded wheats, candy, Captain Crunch, cake, cookies… I didn’t think Diabetic people could eat all of those, and that there was sugar in basically everything. Even your common apple. I thought that an apple did not have any sugar.

That it was healthy.

Diabetes class (After my diagnosis) at the hospital brought me down to reality, gave me knowledge. But just a basic knowledge. you learn things about diabetes on your own, you get used to 5 shots a day or wearing a pump. Testing for blood doesn’t hurt anymore, for the most part, and so on.

What I wish people knew about diabetes… There’s a whole, giant list. And while I wish people were educated on that matter, it’s not my place to decide for them. They’re not sick. They don’t have to live with diabetes. I would educate them for type 2 prevention, but you can’t educate someone to prevent type 1. Type 1 just happens. I didn’t ask for it, I didn’t know it existed. It found me. Or rather, my immune system found it.

I don’t want people to know what it’s like, to live with diabetes. What I want from people, is no judgement. But for them not to judge me, they would need to understand truly, what it’s like to live with diabetes. So I’d need to teach them -everything-.

And that’s never going to happen.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

