DiabeticallyYours

Living life as a Type 1 Diabetic.

#DBlogWeek – Fantasy diabetes device

Tell us what your Fantasy Diabetes Device would be?  Think of your dream blood glucose checker, delivery system for insulin or other meds, magic carb counter, etc etc etc.  The sky is the limit – what would you love to see?

Well, my pancreas working, for one. But I guess the point of this topic is not to talk about a cure for diabetes (Because there isn’t one! Dr. I-Can-Cure-Your-Diabetes!) but about what would make my life much easier if I had this fantasy device.

For one, I think the pump itself is a great device, and I wouldn’t go back to having 5 shots a day with an insulin pen. I am not criticizing people who have them, I know how scary/expensive switching to a pump is. But if it weren’t for the pump, I wouldn’t have that as close to “normal” life as I currently have it. But if I had to create something, it would be this:

A small pump, smaller than the one I have (Medtronic 522) which only 1 site would do both things; distribute insulin AND check my BG. No need for two sites. But not only would it do that, if it were to see that my BG was high, it would automatically deliver the insulin I need to correct it, and make sure that my BG would be at 5.4 (97.2mg) throughout the day. And night. And Physical activities. And sickness. And stress. And so on.

Something that would recharge the batteries through solar power. Something that wouldn’t make a mess every time I change a site. Something that would allow me to wear the site as long as a whole month.

We can all dream, right?

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “#DBlogWeek – Fantasy diabetes device

  1. I like the first part, that would def be better than a device. Good post.

  2. Completely agree! This was going to be along the lines of mine, so I”ll try and think of a new one! 😛 The high solution for me would be the best one, and the just one site idea is great – I asked my doctors that though when I first got the CGM, and they just looked at me as if I had three heads!

    Sophs

  3. hay, thanks for your information. My pump also work good but i don’t like colour. It’s silver and i wnt to have some colourful device.

Leave a Reply

