DiabeticallyYours

Living life as a Type 1 Diabetic.

#DBlogWeek – One thing to improve.

Yesterday we gave ourselves and our loved ones a big pat on the back for one thing we are great at.  Today let’s look at the flip-side.  We probably all have one thing we could try to do better.  Why not make today the day we start working on it.  No judgments, no scolding, just sharing one small thing we can improve so the DOC can cheer us on!

When it comes to my flaws (and I have many of them), I’m not scared to admit them. I know I am a control freak, I like when things go my way. I know that I tend to burst in anger instead of assessing things (Never on a professional level though.) And I try to fix things, I work on my flaws, and sometimes it takes a while, sometimes only a matter of days. One thing I have not been doing ever since I gave birth to my son, diabetes wise, is to test my blood sugar before bed and right after I get up. And it’s important, you know, so that my BG stays nice during the whole 6 or 7 hours of sleep. If I have a BG of 10.5 (or 180mg) I would normally wait until it’s fixed. And I tend to never test. I have a snack at night, my pump beeps during sleep time for my BG reminder, I don’t hear it and keep on dreaming.

The next morning, I tend to my son; diaper change, sippy cup, cuddles, breakfast. It takes about half an hour or so before we sit down to have breakfast, and that’s when I test; right before eating. Most of the time my BG is good, but there are those crazy 2 weeks in the month where it’s not so good. Female hormones; gotta love ’em. Sometimes I test before breakfast and I’m not suprised to see a 15. (Or 270 for you mg readers).

I should test at those times. Having high blood sugar when you sleep, on long term, isn’t necessarily great. And then I’m mad at myself for losing this crazy control I used to have when I was pregnant.

And for not having a CGM.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “#DBlogWeek – One thing to improve.

  1. Karen on said:

    Val, sometimes it seems when I read your blogs, it is like looking into a mirror. It seems that I never remember to test before bed, never until I have been up for at least 1 hour or so in the morning..I have tried many things to remind me and it will work for one to two days but not longer. As many people say, doing things consistently for one or two weeks, starts a habit. Can’t get there though. I dont’ have the pump so nothing wakes me up in the night beeping, but wicked lows have.
    If we find a way to be more diligent and remember, lets share.

    Love reading your posts.

    • I have tried doing it for 1 or two weeks as well, but like you I just can’t get it done LOL. And I’m glad that someone can relate to me, that means I can relate to you, too, and that’s one of the reason why we keep touch!

  2. I can sooo relate to this post! I have twin toddlers and I’ve been in the bad habit for some time now of waking up and doing the whole morning routine with them before ever testing. It’s definitely challenging when you hear your little one cry and have to somehow remember to test first. Good luck on doing this better and I will try too 🙂

    • Twins! Oh jeez! You must have an active house! Only my son makes a tornado of my living room… I can only imagine two of him. Haha!
      Good luck on focusing on testing in the morning, too! I’ll try! …even though I didn’t this morning. Hah!

Leave a Reply

