DiabeticallyYours

Living life as a Type 1 Diabetic.

The power of an Aquarium.

When you have kids, you know rechargeable batteries are a necessity in your life. If you don’t have kids, find wisdom in my words.

My son is 15 months old. Old enough to sleep though the night. Unless something’s wrong, Aaden hardly ever needs any comfort from me if ever he wakes up in the middle of the night. He’s able to go back to sleep on his own, and mommy stays in bed, going back to sleep. Oh, I -do- wake up when he does, I think it’s mommy instincts. But I don’t get out of bed unless I have to. Sleep is precious, especially for diabetics. But that’s another topic. Right now, I want to teach you talk to you about the importance of having recharged batteries at all times.

See, my son has this wonderful aquarium in his crib that helps him fall asleep and with which he plays at night if ever he wakes up, and eventually falls back asleep. But around midnight, the batteries started to fail us. And no more were they. And it takes 4 size “C” batteries to make this thing work, so they are not rechargeable quickly. It takes about 5 to 6  hours to have a full charge. And so last night, I went from changing his diaper, to rocking him, to soothing him, to giving him a bottle, to sleep on the couch with him so not to disturb my husband, to go to bed with him because it was -not- comfortable on the couch… I even tried putting on the TV, but mister Aaden was wide awake. Maybe because it was 2:30am by that time. Then he wanted to play.

He finally fell asleep around 3:30am, after I put his playlist on my iPod and let it play in his room. Thank you Wonder Pets and Backyardigans.

If I had batteries charged, none of that would have happened. I would have stayed in bed, he would have played with his aquarium, and we both would have fallen asleep without a fuss.

It’s not been long since I stopped feeding him at night, when he was only a tiny little thing, and I had to get up every 2 to 3 hours to feed him. I was tired then, but this morning is another kind of tired. You forget so quickly those sleepless nights with an infant, and get used so quickly to sleeping through the night, that every minute of sleep is appreciated. And sometimes, taken for granted.

So, moral of the story is; keep charged batteries at all times. You might get to sleep an extra four hours.

 

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “The power of an Aquarium.

  1. Yes. We learned that lesson with our son and was reminded again with our daughter. We have the rainforest version of the aquarium thing. Luckily for us, our daughter prefers her glowworm/seahorse thing, and it only takes three AA’s, which charge fairly quickly.

  2. We bought a similar aquarium (the rainforest one too, I think), used, for my older son. He loved it, but after it “timed out” and the music stopped, he cried… until he developed the skills to press the button and restart it. My younger son has it now and I don’t know if he’ll develop the same dependency on it or not. But I never got rechargeable batteries. I remember the old NiCad rechargeables when I was a kid, and they lasted half as long as regular alkalines – at most. I just can’t bring myself to believe that this generation of rechargeables is any different.

    • I don’t bother with rechargeable usually, but C batteries are 18$ for only 2! And this aquarium takes four… So it’s very costly in the end!

      • Holy smokes! $9 per battery?! Are those for rechargeable or regular? (I may need to pick up a few regular ones for $1 apiece and send them to you 🙂 )

      • The rechargeable are 18$ for two, and the regular ones are around 8 for two. 1$ a piece? Where?! LOL

      • My local Dollar-store sells batteries for a buck apiece. They’re real-regular (not alkaline) and probably don’t last too long, but they’re out there. I believe you can get a good deal on batteries if you shop around. I get AAA Energizers for my insulin pump at the Home Depot.

  3. Karen on said:

    my kids are much older now, my daughter had a very similiar aquarium and loved to fall asleep to either that or music. Now at 19 years of age, she still likes to have something on at night to fall asleep. It’s amazing that what we do with our children at such a young age, carries on into their adultlife. Hope when she marries, her other half doesn’t mind, tv or radio blarring. My son who is 21 is the same, radio on all all night…drives me nuts. glad when we built the new house, their bedrooms are at one end and we are at the other…

  4. lovehatediabetes on said:

    I’ve learned this lesson when I had a camera that needed batteries. I would frequently run out and not be able to use my camera. Then I bout rechargeable batteries so that I always have a backup!

Leave a Reply

