DiabeticallyYours

Living life as a Type 1 Diabetic.

A Diabetic’s passion.

Yes, I am diabetic. No, my passion is not testing my blood sugars, changing my injection sites or even spending countless time at hospitals or drug stores. Believe it or not, us diabetics have other things in mind other than diabetic stuff! True story!

And so today, I will show you one of my passion in life. (Aside from my family, my husband and my super awesome son!) And with my son, my passion took a spot in the closet for many months (14 to be exact) as it is very time consuming. I’ve even let most of my followers down by not posting anything new either. No, it’s not a blog.

It’s art. Drawing to be exact.

Sketch of a character I used to Role Play as in forums. Most likely will become the main character of a story I have in mind.

I miss drawing. Badly. It’s that one thing I could spend hours on and not be tired after 8 hours straight. Of course, it’s not very healthy to spend 8 hours sketching, drawing, colouring… But it’s what I loved and it’s what I miss most of my life before I was a mommy. Now, I have time to blog and that’s about it! Aaden is still very young and needs most of my attention. I love spending time with my son, don’t get me wrong! But drawing was a part of my life for a very long time and all of a sudden, I have no time for it anymore. Or maybe I just don’t make the time in my busy schedule. Instead of taking several hours, I could spend a few minutes at a time and have a drawing finished in about 2 weeks.

Better than none, right?

Xishuai, my alter-ego.

Most of my drawings can be found here.

I’d like to keep it up. Maybe just focus on comics. I had an idea of making a comic strip blog, mostly about diabetes. Hmm. Maybe in my future plans! First, I have to figure out how to make time for it!

What’s YOUR passion?

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “A Diabetic’s passion.

  1. You should do it! Start small, like with a weekly “Wordless Wednesday”post. You say it’s not healthy to sit and draw for 8 hours, but I disagree. It’s therapeutic, and it lets you express yourself creatively in a unique way. Of course, that’s easier said than done.

    My passion has been ice hockey. Unfortunately, I haven’t put on a full set of gear in over four years (just about the time I got my first insulin pump. coincidence?). I have put on skates (my 5-year old is learning to skate and my wife has figure skated for years) since then, and I did put on my full gear — except skates — last Halloween, but that’s it. I’ve been itching to get back.

    I also like writing, which is part of the reason I started my blog. My biggest challenge is keeping my stuff short enough that people are willing to read it. I’m constantly editing out sections of material that readers probably would gloss over.

    • I agree that it’s therapeutic! You are spot on with that! But I doubt that my thighs agree, haha! I was actually thinking about that weekly thing… I have to find time in my schedule to do it!

      Are you sure you don’t have a little Canadian blood in you? Ice hockey year long over here is a national passion! I wonder if it -was- a coincidence that you’ve stopped just as you got your pump. Hmm. Maybe reflect on it and blog about it? I’d love to hear about it! And this, regardless of how many words you put in a post. When it’s interesting, sometimes I wish posts weren’t short!

    • lovehatediabetes on said:

      Scott did you play hockey in high school? I played hockey for about 17 years ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I didn’t start playing hockey until probably midway through my 20s. I was at my cousin’s wedding and talking to someone else who just started playing, and he told me about Hockey North America — an adult league where the beginner level is suited for people who’ve never even skated before. I had been ice skating only one time (using rental skates) before getting my own skates and taking to the ice with a stick and a helmet.

      Looking at my family lineage, I’m pretty sure I don’t have any Canadian blood. But I was in Canada, once, for a wedding (different one) in Ottawa. I took a drive to Kanata in the rain to see the (then-known-as) Corel Centre, but only saw the outside and the parking lot.

      But perhaps you guys can help me: do you know of a blood glucose meter that works in cold temperatures? Ever since I decided it’s a good idea to bring my meter to the bench rather than leave it in the locker room, I’ve become frustrated seeing “Low Temp” instead of blood sugar results.

  2. alsmercer on said:

    You are so awesome, I love these drawings and want to feature you as a Smart and Creative Woman with Diabetes on my blog. Motherhood may inspire you in some unexpected ways, from one mom to another, make time for your creative pursuits-your son will be proud ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh Amy, Thank you so much! This means a lot to me! Motherhood has been the best thing to happen to me, honestly. I grew so much in this short time of being a mommy, the thought of my son being proud of me one day just makes me grin to such an extent, I think my cheeks could burst!

  3. collegeveganista on said:

    You are so talented!

  4. This is so great! Beautiful stuff! You are so talented!
    Since my diagnosis, diabetes has become my passion. I based my thesis on it as you know. I am considering becoming a CDE. I started this blog. I started working out because of diabetes. I always liked to cook, but now I cook to accommodate my diabetes. I need to find some kind of interest that is not diabetes related…

    • Hahaha, well if diabetes is your hobby, I’m glad! It takes some diabetics to be passionate about it and spread the word, work with it and teach about it!
      When I was diagnosed, All I was thinking was “diabetes, diabetes” so I understand. I started working out, I was writing down every single test on carefully made Excel charts, even had a chart of which finger I used to test to alternate to avoid calluses. I lost interest when I had to take care of my mother when she had a lung cancer diagnosis, and that was in 2008.
      I was very careless until I got pregnant, in 2010. The started to take care of myself again, until recently when I’ve decided to lose weight lol.
      All of this to say that I’ve got sidetracked and I really hope you don’t, because this world need people like you!!!

Leave a Reply

