DiabeticallyYours

Living life as a Type 1 Diabetic.

The insulin-less morrow.

Hey there fellow bloggers and trusty readers!

After my post from last night, I wanted to leave you with an update before I leave for the weekend and not lead you into thinking I might have been seriously hurt from the lack of insulin! To my surprise, I actually woke up with a reading of 5.4 mmol! (That’s a 97.2mg). Doesn’t stop the fact that I could have side effects from not having insulin in my body for a long period of time (I suspect the head ache I have is related). But when I woke up I had an e-mail from a concerned follower and blogger. I don’t know if he wants to remain anonymous so I will only be linking back if he allows it! (And he did! Thanks Scott E.!Not so anonymous anymore! Haha!) And, even though I realized some few things that I should have done instead of just going to bed like that, without insulin for most of the night, it made me feel good! To know that there are people out there with and without the same disease and they care enough to send me a warning message, to be safe, tips on how to act during that period… Things I would have followed if I hadn’t read this email this morning but last night, when he sent it!

No, instead of checking my e-mails, I read The hunger games (Almost done the first book) to keep my mind off of the situation. Was I just evading it? Trying to ignore it instead of taking action? I know for a fact that If my husband would be there, he would have run out in the search for a 24 hours drug store! but he’s at work and I’m alone with Aaden and the last thing I wanted to do was to wake him up, dress him and go look for a store, then have to constantly wake him up by going in and out of the car… I should put my health first, I know, but sometimes I don’t think rationally!

Anyways, I’m fine, and yes don’t worry, I’m getting ready to go out and grab that insulin vial before I get ready and leave for the weekend! I’ll be fine though, and I’ll be back!

Read you soon!

~Valerie Anne

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The insulin-less morrow.

  1. So glad everything worked out OK, and I’m glad to strengthen your faith in the DOC (even if you didn’t read my email until this morning!). I sent the message privately because I didn’t want to come across as a stern bullying type telling you what you need to do.

    But for anyone else in the same situation, here’s the advice: being without insulin for a long time can be very dangerous: DKA and all that not-so-fun stuff. My suggestion was to go with a temporary basal (maybe half) that would stretch out the insulin supply til the morning. It would result in high blood sugars, but with SOME insulin in the body, it would avoid DKA. Also, there are always a couple of “hidden units” in the reservoir even after you reach zero!

  2. Pingback: Faith in the DOC « Rolling in the D

Leave a Reply

