DiabeticallyYours

Living life as a Type 1 Diabetic.

Oh no! No more insulin!

I’m leaving for the weekend tomorrow for my step mother’s birthday. A 2 hours ride for Aaden and I. I love it there, in fact, I’m going to move there in less than 3 months!

So I’m sitting on the couch, watching TV after I put Aaden to bed and my insulin pump beeps, warning me in caps “LOW RESERVOIR”. Argh! I remember that it had warned me at dinner time so I waste no minutes and get up, grab my reservoirs and the insulin vial. Butterfingers. Miss butterfingers. That should be my last name. Not Chiang, Butterfingers. Drop the vial on the ceramic floor. Crash goes the vial, splash goes the insulin. And it was a new bottle so there is no substitute. I look at the time. The pharmacy is already closed at that time. Look at how much insulin I have left in my reservoir; 4.4 units. A total of 4 hours and 27 minutes left.

And the adventures of miss butterfingers begin.

That means that I will have about 9 to 10 hours without insulin. I will have to go to the pharmacy as soon as it opens tomorrow so I can eat breakfast (In PJs if I have to!) and then rush to do everything before I leave for my weekend. I’ve never have this happen to me though, it’s a full first time since 2006.

I’m sure I’ll be fine, but my Blood Glucose will be high tomorrow morning that’s for sure…

Anyone have their insulin vials break before? Be without insulin for 10 hours or so?

You did what, mommy?!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Oh no! No more insulin!

  1. Pingback: The insulin-less morrow. « DiabeticallyYours

  2. Hopefully you got your insulin and aren’t too stressed out trying to get everything together to go out of town! Aaden is such a cutie!

    • Thank you! And yes everything is fine! Although I got a lot of slap on the hands from lots of people lol

      If it ever happens again, I’ll have to wake him up an go buy some at a 24hrs drug store!

      Thanks for your concern!!

  3. Pingback: Faith in the DOC « Rolling in the D

Leave a Reply

