DiabeticallyYours

Living life as a Type 1 Diabetic.

5 likes and 5 dislikes about being a mom!

I couldn’t start with saying “5 things I love and 5 things I Hate about being a mom, because hate is a big word and a no-no in the parenting dictionary. To me anyways. So I am going to list 5 things I love and dislike about being a mother!

5 things I love:

  1. My son’s smile. It has the power to instantly kill the anger/impatience inside of me. It’s that amazing!
  2. Learn to be a new, better person. My son brought me all those new, great qualities, such as patience and more mature. Thanks Aaden!
  3. I am more active! There’s no way mister Aaden will allow me to sit on the couch for more than 15 minutes at a time! He needs to be entertained!
  4. Seeing my son’s progress. It’s amazing to see how quickly he learns simple things like getting off the couch without hurting himself, how to mimic  fish or a pig, hold his own bottle!
  5. The unconditional love coming from this small being who is part of me. A random hug, a cling to my leg when he feels lonely or hurt himself. He knows I’m his mommy and that’s the best feeling to me!

5 things I dislike:

  1. Changing Diapers. Tons of diapers. And my son fights whenever he needs to be changed. Poop. Everywhere. (Sorry for the graphics!)
  2. You pick things up, within a 5 minutes range they are all back on the floor. Toys, clothes, more toys. Everywhere.
  3. Constantly worrying. What’s this bump from? Is this a rash? Is it bad? Is he hurt? Why is he crying? Is he hungry? Did I feed him enough? And the list goes on…
  4. Sleep with one eye opened. I know this will happen even when he’s 16. I can’t stop it, it just happens! Wake up in the middle of the night, he’s not crying, but just in case…
  5. Losing friends. Some people can’t deal with you being a parent, so they slowly become distant. They’re not ready to hang out with you and have their conversations cut off multiple times because I need to take Aaden away from the heater, away from the video games “Don’t do this, Don’t touch that!” And the random crying for lack of attention.

I’ll soon make a new entry about things I like and dislike about being a Diabetic parent. Because yes, there ARE things I like about being a diabetic parent!

What’s your likes and dislikes?

 
This following video I made a while back and Aaden was about 9 months old and younger.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “5 likes and 5 dislikes about being a mom!

  1. Vincent Fontaine on said:

    But the real question is, do the likes overcome the dislikes?

  2. I’m going through my second time as a new parent — my oldest is 5 years and my youngest is 4 months, and you are so right about the five likes! It’s a wonderful feeling to be looked up and to feel needed; and it’s so rewarding to see them learn and grow.

    As for the dislikes, the first doesn’t really bother me. My brother is severely disabled and I’ve had to change HIS dirty diapers at times. Once you’ve changed the diaper of a 30-year old (who fights back!), changing a baby is a piece of cake.

  3. I don’t have any kids yet, but I’ve read that the best time to change any bad habits is when you’re a new parent. Do you think that’s true?

    • It’s VERY true! Well, in my case anyway. I used to not mind if a pair of socks was just laying around for a few days… Now I can’t stand it! I have to pick up his toys and so I’m not going to let a pair of socks lay there on top of it! Used to be very lazy. Now, I can’t afford to be!

      • So true…. it’s the time to break the bad habits (leaving socks around, using foul language), because you don’t want to set a bad example for the kid(s)!

  4. Haha Scott!!! The foul language… Oh jeez, My son walks around saying the S word sometimes… I REALLY have to fix this! But you know, It’s hard to conceal when you stub your little toe or drop milk all over yourself when filling up a bottle… haha!

  5. lovehatediabetes on said:

    Such a cute video and post! I’d love to hear the diabetic version 🙂

  6. Pingback: 5 likes and dislikes about being a diabetic mom! « DiabeticallyYours

Leave a Reply

